The latest information about activities at the Atomic and Molecular Data Unit is available for the next few months at:
Existing data services at this location function as usual.

IAEA Technical Meeting on Ab Initio Based Methods for Plasma Material Interaction in Fusion Devices: Agenda and Presentations

IAEA Headquarters, Vienna, 14-15 December 2011

Wednesday, 14 December 2011

09:30 - 09:50 R. A. Forrest, B. J. Braams: Welcome and Introductions

Session I. Chair: P. Krstic

09:50 - 10:40 R. Schneider: Plasma-Wall Interaction in Fusion: Overview and Challenges for Predictive Modeling
10:40 - 11:00 Break
11:00 - 11:50 R. J. Harrison: Computational Chemistry Trends Relevant for Plasma-Material Interaction
11:50 - 12:40 G.-H. Lu: Ab Initio-Based Modeling of Hydrogen and Helium Behaviours in Plasma Facing Materials and its Connections to Edge Plasma Simulation

12:40 - 14:00 Lunch

Session II. Chair: R. Schneider

14:00 - 14:50 S. Irle: Density Functional Tight-Binding Molecular Dynamics for Chemical Sputtering Simulations
14:50 - 15:30 K. Nordlund: Comparisons of DFT-MD, TB-MD and Classical MD Calculations of Radiation Damage and Plasma-Wall Interactions
15:30 - 16:00 Break
16:00 - 16:40 P. Krstic: Validation, Verification and Uncertainty Quantification of the PMI Calculations: D on C-Li-O
16:40 - 17:10 J. W. Davis: Highlights from the Preceeding Meeting on Improving the Database for Physical and Chemical Sputtering
17:10 - 17:30 All: Discussion

19:30 - Social dinner (outside VIC)

Thursday, 15 December 2011

Session III. Chair: K. Nordlund

09:00 - 09:30 K. Ohya: Molecular Dynamics Study of Hydrogen and Hydrocarbon Interactions with Carbon and Beryllium Deposits
09:30 - 10:00 A. Ito: Modeling of Potential with Downfolding Method
10:00 - 10:30 R. Schneider: Multi-Scale Modeling of Hydrogen Transport in Porous Graphite
10:30 - 11:00 Break
11:00 - 12:30 All: Discussion

12:30 - 14:00 Lunch

Session IV. Chair: B. J. Braams

14:00 - 14:20 B. J. Braams: Start of Discussion: PMI Issues for the A+M Data Unit
14:20 - 17:30 All: Science needs and meeting recommendations

Front row: K. Ohya, P. Krstic, R. Schneider, S. Irle, B. J. Braams, G.-H. Lu, J. Burgdoerfer, H.-K. Chung
Back row: A. Ito, J. W. Davis, I. Cernusak, K. Nordlund, R. J. Harrison.